Yes that means your editing options have changed. If you need to make changes, you will have to convert the design to block and then make the changes that are allowed for manual punch. In the future if you save a V9 copy first and then save a second copy with a different name as a V6 file, you will be able to edit the V9 file completely.
For future reference, to write multiple designs to your card, you use the Design Database. There is a sample lesson for Version 7 on my website that would walk you through the process. It will work for NEXT as well since they haven't changed the process for writing to the card. Follow this link. http://www.cynthiasembroidery.com/assets/images/Writemultipletocard.pdf